The Fair City


Dates for Filing an Application for a Place on the City of RIESEL General Election Ballot for 2022 for the November 8, 2022 Joint General Election.

Start Date: Saturday, July 23, 2022
End Date: Monday, August 22, 2022
Applications can be filed with the City Secretary during normal business hours, Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Physical Address for filing application:
Riesel City Hall
104 N. Highway 6
Riesel, TX 76682

Mailing Address for filing application:

City of Riesel, PO Box 249, Riesel, TX 76682

2022 Joint General Election 

City of Riesel Council Members are elected during the November election. There are three City Council Member positions expiring in 2022. 

The Council Members with terms expiring in 2022 are:

  • Mayor: KEVIN HOGG
  • Council Member: JEFF TANNER
  • Council Member: TODD EHLERS

Eligibility Requirements to apply for place on ballot
Qualifications for Office Type A City (Local Gov't Code, Section 22.032)
  • Be  a Citizen of the United States
  • Be 18 years old
  • Have not been determined mentally incompetent by a final judgment in court
  • Have No felony convictions
  • Have resided in the state continuously for the previous 12 months
  • Must be a registered voter in the City of Riesel by the filing deadline
  • Must satisfy any other eligibility requirements prescribed by law for this office
  • Council Member candidate residency requirements - 1 year in state prior to the filing deadline and 6 months residency in city limits prior to the filing deadline
  • Mayoral candidate residency requirements -1 year in state prior to filing deadline 
and one year residency in city limits prior to election day

McLennan County Election Page

Applications for ballot by mail should be mailed to:

Jared Goldsmith
McLennan County Elections Administrator
P.O. Box 2450
Waco, Texas 76703-2450
Email Election Administrator

Important Voting Dates:

Last Day to Register to Vote is 30 days prior to an election.

View more information about registering to vote.

Last Day to Register to Vote: Monday, October 11, 2022

First Day of Early Voting by Personal Appearance: Monday, October 24, 2022

Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail (Received, not Postmarked): Friday, October 28, 2022

Last Day of Early Voting by Personal Appearance: Friday, November 4, 2022

Last day to Receive Ballot by Mail: Tuesday, November 8, 2022 (election day) at 7:00 p.m. OR Wednesday, November 9, 2022 (next business day after Election Day) at 5:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 p.m. at the location of the election on Election Day (unless overseas or military deadlines apply)

Helpful Election Links:

Texas Secretary of State

Texas Ethics Commission

McLennan County Elections Office


Voter ID Requirements

Pursuant to State Law, voter ID is required when voting in the State of Texas. For detailed information on this law, visit the Texas Secretary of State’s website.

Ballot Candidates for November 8, 2022 Joint General Election
Mayor: To to be Determined
Council Member: To to be Determined 
Council Member: To to be Determined

Miscellaneous Documents

2022 Ballot Certification (.pdf)

Election Calendar (link to SOS website)

Order of Special Election November 2021 (.pdf)

City of Riesel Order of Election (.pdf)